Schlagwort-Archive: Cameron Meyer

Mitchelton-Scott dominiert australische Straßenmeisterschaft

1 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 2:57:59
2 Justine Barrow (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer 0:00:01
3 Grace Brown (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:11
Another masterful ride secured Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) a third road nationals crown at the 2020 Federation University Road National Championships in Buninyong on Sunday.

Foto: Gerhard Plomitzer –

Spratt outfoxed surprise medallist Justine Barrow (Roxsolt Attaquer) on the home straight after the pair figured in the lead group for nearly the entirety of the race. Spratt’s teammate Grace Brown (Mitchelton-Scott) took bronze.
“This is just as special if not more special (than my first one), I owe this one to my team, they rode incredibly well,” said Spratt, 32, who added to her 2012 and 2016 victories.

The final day of the 2020 Federation University Road National Championships began with 78 riders setting out on the 104-kilometre race which took in nine laps of the infamous 11-kilometre Mt Buninyong course.
A crash on the opening lap brought down a group of riders including the highly favoured Tiffany Cromwell (Canyon SRAM Racing) and Lauren Kitchen (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine). The group quickly fell more than two minutes off the peloton, effectively ending their day.
Mitchelton-Scott set the pace early at the front of the race before Brown launched a surprise attack on the third climb of the day which was answered by Spratt, with Barrow pouncing on the opportunity.
“We wanted to have a surprise tactic, normally everyone is waiting, waiting, so we thought why not turn it on its head and go on the third lap,” said Spratt. “We had Gracie Elvin riding really hard from the start and then Grace Brown launched an attack third time up the climb.
“When Justine came across, we were expecting more people but we thought ok, and knew we would have to go hard up the climb.”
Powered by Grace Brown, the trio quickly moved to a lead of nearly one minute on the peloton, before extending that gap to over two and a half minutes at the halfway point of the race. With a disorganised chase group heading a splintering field, the trio’s lead blew out to nearly six minutes by race end before Spratt held off Barrow in a sprint to the line, with Brown eleven seconds back.
“It was a dream race. It was a bit unusual I came in as the sole leader, but we had a solid plan and grateful for the team backing me and gold I could pull it off,” Spratt explained. “I owe a lot to Grace Brown, she annihilated herself for me so it was really pleasing to see Grace on the podium.
“Justine Barrow was very impressive, I tried to attack on the climb and I couldn’t get away from her. I felt confident if it came down to a sprint, but I think she had an incredible ride so I was very impressed, especially when she was matching me on the climb.”
It continues the career-best form from Spratt, who last September became the first Australian woman to win two career World Championship road race medals after winning bronze at the 2019 World Championships.
“I was so emotional over the line,” the Blue Mountains cyclist said.“I put so much work in and I did feel a lot of pressure today, so it’s also that pressure and that build-up of energy.
“I felt more nervous than I have in a while this morning. You just now you really, really, really want it, so just as special. It doesn’t get boring, put it that way.”
@Cycling Australia

Cameron Meyer (Mitchelton-Scott) finally won the elite men’s road race title at the 2020 Australian Road Championships in Buninyong, Victoria, on Sunday afternoon, having gone so close so many times before.

The Western Australian attacked just ahead of the final climb, shedding his rivals and soloing to an emotional victory, coming home almost a minute ahead of teammate Lucas Hamilton, with Marcus Culey (Team Sapura Cycling) – who’d spent much of the day at the front of the race in the main breakaway – taking the bronze medal ahead of WorldTour riders including Jay McCarthy (Bora-Hansgrohe), Nathan Haas (Cofidis) and Chris Harper (Jumbo-Visma).

ELITE Männer: Buninyong (185,6 km / 16x 11,6 km)
1. 10 Cameron MEYER 4h48:16
2. 11 Lucas HAMILTON +56
3. 77 Marcus CULEY +1:07
4. 9 Luke DURBRIDGE +1:10
5. 6 Jay MCCARTHY +1:10
6. 22 Nathan HAAS +1:10
7. 7 Chris HARPER +1:20
8. 14 Michael HEPBURN +1:52
9. 76 Brendan JOHNSTON +1:52
10. 19 Robert POWER +1:52

Santos Tour Down Under

Bilder oder Fotos hochladen
Bilder oder Fotos hochladen

Cameron Meyer eyes the overall GC
Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka will get its World Tour campaign underway at the season opening Santos Tour Down Under, which takes place from the 17-24 January in Adelaide, Australia.

After Cameron Meyer, Nathan Haas and Mark Renshaw got us off to a great start at the Australian National Road Champs last week, our African Team are motivated to make an impression at our first UCI World Tour event of 2016.

Once again the Santos Tour Down Under will get underway with the curtain raising People’s Choice Classic Criterium on Sunday 17 January. The stage race then officially gets underway on Tuesday the 19th, and ends after 6 stages on Sunday 24th. Stage 5 is expected to be the race defining stage as it ends with two ascents up Willunga Hill. The remaining 5 stages have options for both the opportunists and sprinters.

Santos Tour Down Under weiterlesen

Santos Tour Down Under – Rohan Dennis interview

Bilder oder Fotos hochladen

Bilder oder Fotos hochladen

Santos Tour Down Under – Rohan Dennis pre-race interview

12 January, 2016, Adelaide (AUS)

Rohan Dennis confident about 2016 success

12 Jan 16

2015 Santos Tour Down Under winner, Rohan Dennis is confident about his success in 2016 and said that Australian riders are in top form this year.

Dennis confirmed that Australian riders Simon Gerrans, Richie Porte, Cameron Myer and Nathan Haas will be stiff competition throughout the Tour.

“Gerrans you can’t go past. Obviously Richie – he’s always good, but he’s my teammate. There are always a couple more guys – Cameron Myer and Nathan Haas – Australians in general are very strong in nationals,” he said.

When asked what sets Australian riders apart from their competitors, Dennis mentioned the often sweltering weather conditions that Australian riders are acclimatised to.

Santos Tour Down Under – Rohan Dennis interview weiterlesen

Drapac Pro Cycling zielt auf Spitzenleistungen im Straßen National Team Trial


Wird  Clarke während eines  TT Trainings in Bright fahren

Der einundzwanzig Jahre alte Jordan Kerby wird der erste Fahrer sein sein, der in Drapac Pro Cycling 2014 Australien-Verkehrs National Championships Kampagne am Mittwoch in der Zeitfahr Veranstaltung antritt. Kerby wird der vorletzte Fahrer aus dem Starthaus in der U-23- Männer- Zeitfahren sein, und gibt zu, es ist etwas Druck um seine Fahrt angebracht.

Drapac Pro Cycling zielt auf Spitzenleistungen im Straßen National Team Trial weiterlesen