Schlagwort-Archive: Dennis

Best of cycling at the 53rd Tirreno-Adriatico

Sagan, Nibali, Froome, Dumoulin and Aru have spoken about their expectations on the eve of the first stage. Uran, Bardet, Landa, Lopez, Adam Yates, Dennis, Thomas, Van Avermaet, Kwiatkowski, Gilbert, Ulissi, Boasson Hagen, Gaviria, Cavendish, Ewan – and plenty of other big names at the start.
Attached is the start list and the starting order of the Team Time Trial.

Camaiore, 6 March 2018 – On the eve of the start of the 53rd Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport, the race organised by RCS Sport / La Gazzetta dello Sport from 7 to 13 March, five of the biggest names in racing spoke about their ambitions and expectations: Peter Sagan (three time UCI World Champion), Chris Froome (winner of 2017 Tour de France and Vuelta a España), Tom Dumoulin (winner of the 2017 Giro d’Italia and UCI ITT World Champion), Vincenzo Nibali (multi-Grand Tour winner, third at the Giro and second at the Vuelta last year) and Fabio Aru (overall winner of the 2015 Vuelta a España and reigning Italian National Road Race Champion). The Corsa dei Due Mari (Race of the Two Seas) starts tomorrow with the Team Time Trial at Lido di Camaiore (21.5km).

Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport 2018 Starters List
Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport 2018 Roadbook
Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport 2018 Maps
TTT Start Order
Photo Gallery Press Conference
Peter Sagan (Bora–Hansgrohe) said: “For sure it will be a different Tirreno-Adriatico for me. In the past, I used to race more before coming here, including in Qatar, Oman or Argentina and the opening weekend in Belgium. My schedule has changed: now this race is the real beginning of my season. I’ve won the points classification four times [in the past four years] and I’d like to win another jersey. Winning here at Tirreno-Adriatico would be an excellent way to arrive at the Milan-Sanremo, a race I care about a lot.”

Since 2012, Peter Sagan has taken part in every edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico, making this his seventh consecutive Race of the Two Seas. In 2012 he finished second in the overall General Classification, just one second behind the winner, Greg Van Avermaet.
UCI World Champion Sagan has won a total of seven stages. He is just one stage win away from Alessandro Petacchi, Moreno Argentin and Giuseppe Saronni, who jointly hold the all-time third position (of eight victories), behind Roger de Vlaeminck (15) and Oscar Freire (11).

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team) said: “It’s always pretty much the same before Tirreno-Adriatico: we’re always a bit in the unknown. I don’t exactly good know how my condition is coming into this as a problem at the beginning of the season has delayed my start. I’m on my toes but I don’t have huge ambitions – we’ll take it day by day and see what I can look for. Our team is going well – we’re working the best we can – and we’ve a good group with [Domenico] Pozzovivo who is here for GC.”

Best of cycling at the 53rd Tirreno-Adriatico weiterlesen

BMC Racing Team: Drei Etappensiege bei der Tour de France

Rohan Dennis, Sieger der ersten Etappe, dem Einzelzeitfahren mit einer Rekordgeschwindigkeit am 4. Juli, war Teil einer Fluchtgruppe auf den letzten 10 Kilometern der 109.5 Kilometer langen Sonntags-Etappe. Nachdem er einen Tag lang das Gelbe Trikot getragen hat, verhalf er dem BMC Racing Team beim Mannschaftszeitfahren bei der 9. Etappe zum Sieg.

BMC Racing Team: Drei Etappensiege bei der Tour de France weiterlesen