Michael Walgren – winner of the 2018 edition
Foto: Gerhard Plomitzer

The organization of the Amstel Gold Race has announced six wildcards for the only Dutch cycling classic to be held this year on Sunday, April 19.

Circus – Wanty Gobert (België)
Alpecin – Fenix (België)
Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise (België)
Wallonie Bruxelles (België)
Team Arkéa – Samsic (Frankrijk)
Riwal Readynez Cycling Team (Denemarken)

The team of Mathieu van der Poel, who since this year has continued cycling under the name Alpecin-Fenix, is again at the start of the Amstel Gold Race this year. Circus – Wanty Gobert also appears at the start of the 55th Amstel Gold Race and hopes to repeat the trick of 2016 again, when Enrico Gasparotto won in the service of the Belgian cycling team. The Scandinavian formation Riwal Readynez will be at the start with a few Dutchmen. Total Direct Energie has rejected the invitation to participate in the Amstel Gold Race.

The 19 automatically entitled UCI WorldTour teams:

AG2R-La Mondiale (France)
Astana Pro Team (Kazachstan)
Bahrain – McLaren (Bahrain)
BORA-Hansgrohe (Germany)
CCC Team (Poland)
Cofidis (France)
Deceuninck – Quick-Step (Belgium)
EF Pro Cycling (United States)
Groupama- FDJ (France)
Israel Start-up Nation (Israel)
Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
Mitchelton-Scott (Australia)
Movistar Team (Spain)
NTT Pro Cycling Team (South-Afrika)
Team INEOS (United Kingdom)
Team Jumbo- Visma (The Netherlands)
Team Sunweb (Germany)
Trek – Segafredo (United States)
UAE Team Emirates (United Arab Emirates)

The classic starts on Sunday 19 April at 10:30 am at the Vrijthof in Maastricht and finishes around 5 pm at the finish location in Vilt-Valkenburg. The peloton has to cover about 260 kilometers this year. There are 35 climbs on the program during the race.
The Amstel Gold Race was won by Kasia Niewiadoma and Mathieu van der Poel in 2019.