Participating teams Amstel Gold Race

Participating teams Amstel Gold Race and Amstel Gold Race Ladies Edition announced

The organisation of the Amstel Gold Race has announced the 6 wildcards for the Amstel Gold Race 2021. The 55th Amstel Gold Race on Sunday 18 April will feature the UCI ProTeam Alpecin-Fenix (Belgium) alongside the 19 WorldTeams whom are obligatory invited.

The remaining 5 Wildcards are awarded to:
• Bingoal WB (Belgium)
• Gazprom – Rusvelo (Russia)
• Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise (Belgium)
• Team Arkéa – Samsic (France)
• UNO – X Pro Cycling Team (Norway)
As the winning team of 2019, Alpecin – Fenix will be invited again this year. They will have the first start numbers assigned. The Dutch spring classic is once again part of the UCI WorldTour this year. The 19 WorldTeams of the UCI WorldTour are automatically entitled to participate in the Amstel Gold Race.

In accordance with UCI rules, the following 19 UCI WorldTeams are automatically invited to the race:
• AG2R Citroen Team (France)
• Astana – Premier Tech (Kazakhstan)
• Bahrain Victorious (Bahrain)
• Bora – Hansgrohe (Germany)
• Cofidis (France)
• Deceuninck – Quick-Step (Belgium)
• EF Education – Nippo (United States)
• Groupama – FDJ (France)
• INEOS Grenadiers (Great Britain)
• Intermaché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux (Belgium)
• Israel Start-up Nation (Israel)
• Jumbo – Visma (The Netherlands)
• Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
• Movistar Team (Spain)
• Team DSM (Germany)
• Team Qhubeka Assos (South Africa)
• Team BikeExchange (Australia)
• Trek – Segafredo ( United States)
• UAE Team Emirates (United Arab Emirates)

The participating teams in the Amstel Gold Race Ladies Edition have also been announced. Next to the 9 UCI Women’s WorldTeams 15 UCI Women’s Continental Teams have been invited.

In accordance with UCI rules, the following 9 UCI Women’s WorldTeams are automatically invited to the race:
• Ale‘ BTC Ljubljana (Italy)
• Canyon // SRAM Racing (Germany)
• FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope (France)
• Liv Racing (The Netherlands)
• Movistar Team Women (Spain)
• Team BikeExchange (Australia)
• Team DSM (Germany)
• Team SD Worx (The Netherlands)
• Trek – Segafredo (United States)

De 15 UCI Women’s Continental Teams
• Andy Schleck – CP NVST – Immo Losch (Luxembourg)
• A.R. Monex Women’s Pro Cycling Team (Italy)
• Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire Cycling Team (Belgium)
• CAMS-Tifosi (Great Britain)
• Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team (Germany)
• Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team (Russia)
• Doltcini – Van Eyck – Proximus Continental Team (Belgium)
• GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling (Netherlands)
• Jumbo-Visma Women Team (The Netherlands)
• Lotto Soudal Ladies (Belgium)
• Multum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team (Belgium)
• NXTG Racing (The Netherlands)
• Parkhotel Valkenburg (The Netherlands)
• Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank (United States)
• Valcar Travel & Service (Italy)

17-kilometre circuit
On Sunday 18th April, the elite women and men will be riding 7 and 13 laps of 17 kilometres respectively, with each lap climbing the Geulhemmerberg, the Bemelerberg and the Cauberg. The final circuit of the men’s race will omit the Cauberg. The Amstel Gold Race Ladies Edition will be held in the morning, with the start at approximately 8.30 a.m. and the finish around noon. The men’s Amstel Gold Race starts at 12.15 pm and is expected to finish at around 5.45 pm. Because of the current Covid-19 measures the start will not take place on the Vrijthof square in Maastricht, but within a closed area at the top of the Cauberg. The organisation asks everyone to watch the race from home and not to travel to Limburg.