Quintana’s Tirreno-Adriatico Double

Quintana repeats his 2015 victory. Dennis wins a great final stage ITT overtaking Pinot to claim second on GC.

San Benedetto del Tronto, 14 March 2017 – Nairo Quintana claimed his second overall victory at Tirreno-Adriatico as he secured a final advantage of 25 seconds over Rohan Dennis, the Australian national champion who won the closing individual time trial in San Benedetto del Tronto by three seconds from Dutch specialist Jos van Emden and Dennis’ compatriot Michael Hepburn.

Final Results
Stage 7 Photo Gallery

1 – Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)
2 – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) at 25“
3 – Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) at 36″

1 – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) 10,050m in 11’18“, average speed 53.097kph
2 – Jos van Emden (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo) at 3″
3 – Michael Hepburn (Orica – Scott) at 3″


Maglia Azzurra (blue), General Classification winner, sponsored by NamedSport – Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)
Maglia Rossa (red), Points Classification winner, sponsored by FSA – Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)
Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains Classification winner, sponsored by Snello Rovagnati – Davide Ballerini (Androni Giocattoli)
Maglia Bianca (white), Young Rider General Classification winner, sponsored by Selle Italia – Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)

Overall winner Nairo Quintana said in the press conference: “It was more difficult to win Tirreno-Adriatico two years ago when I had more rivals who were more experienced than I was. Now I’m stronger and smarter, and I had a better team this time around. I won more with my head than with my legs. I expected to finish the week of racing in a better shape than I had at the start and that’s the case. I can pursue my preparation for my goals – the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France – as I’m happy with my condition. I also have another Tirreno-Adriatico victory under my belt. This is a race I like a lot. It’s impossible to establish a hierarchy of the favourites for the Giro now. Some riders have been in the shadows this week but they’ll be shining in May. The level will be very high so I’ll have to be at 100% for winning.“

Stage winner Rohan Dennis said: “This is an important victory for me. I was in the bus when Jos van Emden set the best time. I knew from the Eneco Tour last year that it would be a time of reference. He’s very competitive. He’s always a threat. I know from my performance at the Terminillo that I need to lose two or three kilos to close that minute gap I miss compared to the climbers. I’m probably not going to do that for the coming Giro d’Italia. It’s safer to take a slower step. I give myself four years for winning a Grand Tour.”

Only Roger De Vlaeminck, with six straight overall victories (from 1972 to 1977), has won more Tirreno-Adriatico than Nairo Quintana (2015, 2017). The other double winners are Giuseppe Saronni (1978, 1982), Francesco Moser (1980, 1981), Rolf Sørensen (1987, 1992), Tony Rominger (1989, 1990) and Vincenzo Nibali (2012, 2013).

Rohan Dennis is the first Australian to win a time trial at Tirreno-Adriatico. He’s the second Australian to make the final podium after Cadel Evans who won the race in 2011, having also finished third in 2010. Matt Goss (stage 2 to Indicatore in 2013) was the last Australian stage winner.

Data collected by Velon’s devices on the riders’ bikes tell the detailed story of the stage: Data and an explanation guide can be downloaded here.

Photo credits: LaPresse – D’Alberto / Ferrari

Follow us on Twitter | Like us on Facebook