Schlagwort-Archive: La Vuelta 19


Key points:

• The Asturian summit of La Cubilla has won the competition held by La Vuelta on its social media to decide on “The most viral high-altitude finale” of the 2019 edition, beating Ares del Maestrat in the final.
• This year, for the first time, the summit to bear the title of the Alberto Fernández Summit – which refers to the toughest climb of each edition of La Vuelta – will be the winner of the most viral high-altitude finale, chosen by La Vuelta followers as this edition’s most attractive climb.
• Two VIP access bracelets for the 16th stage of La Vuelta 19, held on the 9th of September, will be raffled among the participants.

Cycling and La Vuelta fans have voted and have chosen La Cubilla. Lena as the “Most viral high-altitude finale” of La Vuelta 19. The Asturian peak, one of the great unprecedented locations of La Vuelta’s 74th edition, faced another unprecedented mountain pass in the final: Ares del Maestrat, in the Province of Castellón. A tough final battle in which over 3000 users voted through La Vuelta’s Facebook page.
Despite the countless Asturian summits La Vuelta has already climbed in the past, the Principality continues to offer the race – year after year – new unprecedented peaks. La Cubilla mountain pass is comparable to its Pyrenean counterparts due to its length, its characteristic winding twists and the unparalleled beauty found along its ascent. Over 20 km of continuous climbing with an average inclination of 5% and ramps featuring two-digit percentiles. This mountain pass, highly frequented and appreciated by cyclotourists, makes its debut in La Vuelta 19 on a high note.

Located on the Leon border of the Las Ubiñas Natural Park, Biosphere Reserve, La Cubilla won a competition that began in March and which saw it beat seven of La Vuelta’s other high-altitude finales. In the face-offs, La Cubilla eliminated the infernal ramps of the Castellón mountain pass Mas de la Costa and those of another more recent discovery for La Vuelta: Los Machucos, Monumento a la Vaca Pasiega.
Throughout the three months of voting, over 13,000 users participated in the seven rounds of face-offs, doubling the number of voters since last year’s edition. The localities found near these mountain passes have, again, thrown their support behind the competition, encouraging fans to vote with the hope of being proclaimed winners.
Furthermore, with the aim of giving greater weight to the opinion of La Vuelta followers, the organisation has decided to declare the competition winner the Alberto Fernández Summit, which corresponds to each edition’s toughest climb.
All the voters now aspire to win two VIP access bracelets to attend the 16th stage, whose finish-line will be at La Cubilla, on the 9th of September. The winner will be chosen through a raffle of all voters and his/her name will be announced next week through the La Vuelta Facebook page.
More information about La Vuelta on


The official route for La Vuelta 19 was today announced at the ADDA auditorium in Alicante. The 74th edition of the Spanish race will take place between August 24th and September 15th 2019, setting out from Salinas de Torrevieja and ending in Madrid. With a distance of 3,272.2 km, the competition includes eight uphill finishes, five of which are new. The presentation was attended by representatives from the international peloton, including last year’s podium: Simon Yates, Enric Mas and Miguel Ángel López; but also national cycling stars such as Alejandro Valverde, the new world champion.
On Wednesday December 19th Unipublic announced the route for La Vuelta 19, which will be held between August 24th and September 15th 2019. The Spanish race will start at Salinas de Torrevieja with a team time trial, the first of three stages to take place on the Costa Blanca. Once on its way, the peloton will depart the province of Alicante and head to Valencia, Teruel, Castellón, Tarragona and Barcelona. The general classification will start to take shape during these initial stages, which include several sprints and new uphill finishes that will begin to set the top riders apart.
La Vuelta 19 will experience an initial turning before the first rest day, during one of its queen stages. The spectacular mountain stage in the Principality of Andorra includes a chain of some of the harshest mountain passes in Andorra and a new ascent to Coll d’Engolasters with a 4 km sterrato track link section. The race then crosses the border to France, returning to the Peninsula via Navarre, the Basque Country, Cantabria and Asturias, where it will visit some familiar peaks and also some new ones for this year, such as Santuario del Acebo or Alto de La Cubilla, to the delight of mountain climbers.

During its final week, the race moves to the Central System, alternating between Castile–La Mancha, Castile and León and the Community of Madrid. With a ‘leg-breaking’ final in the Gredos and Guadarrama mountains, traversing La Vuelta’s mythical mountain passes such as La Morcuera, which brought us a heart-stopping finish during La Vuelta 15 when Fabio Aru took the red jersey from Tom Dumoulin during stage 20.
“It’s going to be a hard but very interesting Vuelta, with surprises, intrigue and emotion guaranteed. Short but intense stages, including innovation and new and unprecedented ascents. The Vuelta brand is what it is, and we will never give it up, to the contrary, we seek to strengthen it”, stated Javier Guillén, La Vuelta’s General Manager.

The leader’s red jersey celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. In 2010 Vincenzo Nibali became the first winner of the Spanish grand tour to wear the red jersey, which replaced the gold jersey last worn by Alejandro Valverde. “Red is associated with success, passion, and Spain and is now firmly associated with the unparalleled spectacle that is our race”, explained Javier Guillén. The list of riders to have worn the red jersey atop the final podium of La Vuelta includes names such as Fabio Aru, Vicenzo Nibali, Nairo Quintana, Alberto Contador, Chris Froome or Simon Yates, the last to join this select club.
Laura Cueto